Future urban development leads agenda

Media Release: Auckland Council

Decision digest | Planning Committee


The Planning Committee today agreed to refresh its 30 year strategy for future urban development and discussed the council’s submissions on the East West Link and the Review of the Unit Titles Act discussion document.

The following is a digest of decisions made. The agenda is available on Auckland Council’s website and minutes will be added once confirmed. This meeting was also webcast on the council’s website and items are available on demand.

Items 1-8 are administrative items, excluding public and local board input which is summarised below.

Item 5: Public Input

Mr Ben Ross gave a presentation to the committee on Auckland's boom and the pressures facing southern Auckland.

Item 6: Local Board input

The Great Barrier Local Board presented on Aotea Great Barrier Island Dark Sky Sanctuary Accreditation.

Items 9 and 10: Auckland Plan refresh

These items require further preparatory work and will be considered at the next meeting of the Planning Committee on the 28 March 2017.

Item 11: Future Urban Land Supply Strategy Refresh  

The committee approved making proposed changes to the existing Future Urban Land Supply Strategy for public consultation.

Changes are proposed to the sequencing of greenfield land in areas zoned future urban for development over the next 30 years.

This follows Unitary Plan decisions in August 2016 that increased the size of some future urban zones and included some rural settlement areas for future urban development.  Overall 15,000 hectares is now available for future urban development up from 11,000 in 2015.        

Some areas are proposed to move forward and others put back because of infrastructure constraints. The total cost of providing bulk infrastructure to support future urban development is estimated at $19.7 billion over 30 years meaning not all areas can be funded at once.

Future urban areas in the proposed strategy recommended to be brought forward in sequencing for future urban development are Warkworth North, Wainui East, Silverdale (business), Red Hills, Puhinui (business), Wesley (Paerata), Opaheke Drury, Drury South.

Areas recommended to be put back in terms of sequencing are Kumeu Huapai Riverhead, Whenuapai Stage 2, Drury West Stage 2, Puhinui (business), Red Hills North, Warkworth North East and Takanini.

Councillors Chris Darby, Daniel Newman, Dick Quax, Wayne Walker and Linda Cooper and Liane Ngamane from the Independent Māori Statutory Board have been appointed to a deliberations panel to consider the pubic engagement and feedback and make recommendations back to the Planning committee.

More information is available in the committee agenda. Public consultation will take place from 29 March 2017 to 18 April 2017.

Item 12: East West Link Auckland Council Submission 

The committee received an update on the key points of Auckland Council’s submission on the New Zealand Transport Agency’s applications for the East West Link project.

The committee noted a number of key matters identified by council experts as potential areas of issue or opportunity and also approved delegations for the Political Reference Group to approve Council’s position throughout the Board of Inquiry process.

The Government identified the project as being of national importance referring it to a Board of Inquiry to consider.  The applications were publicly notified on 22 February 2017 and close on 22 March 2017.                          

Item 13: Submission on "Review of the Unit Titles Act 2010 discussion document"  

The committee approved council’s submission on the Government’s Review of the Unit Titles Act 2010 discussion document

Item 14: Political reference group to consider the draft "Government Policy Statement on Land Transport"  

Councillors Chris Darby (Chair), Richard Hills, Linda Cooper, Wayne Walker and local board members Pippa Coom (Waitemata), Shane Henderson (Henderson Massey), David Holm (Puketāpapa), Greg Presland (Waitakere Ranges) and a member of the Independent Maori Statutory Board were appointed to a political reference group to work with staff on the council’s submission to the draft Government Policy Statement on Land Transport.

Item 15: Political reference group to consider the Government’s “Urban Development Authorities Discussion Document" 

The committee received an overview of the Government’s Urban Development Authorities Discussion Document, and agreed the council will make a submission.

Councillors Chris Darby (Chair), Denise Lee (Deputy Chair), Penny Hulse, Alf Filipaina, three local board and one Independent Maori Statutory Board members and one were appointed to a political reference group to provide direction in developing council’s submission.

Item 16: Planning Committee Forward Work Programme

The committee approved the Planning Committee forward work programme which is available in the committee agenda.